Akwaaba(welcome) in Ghana!!!! - Reisverslag uit Koforidua, Ghana van Arjun Sheerbahadursing - WaarBenJij.nu Akwaaba(welcome) in Ghana!!!! - Reisverslag uit Koforidua, Ghana van Arjun Sheerbahadursing - WaarBenJij.nu

Akwaaba(welcome) in Ghana!!!!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Arjun

15 Juli 2014 | Ghana, Koforidua

Maa ache(goodmorning)

So it is my third day already in Ghana, time flies.I will try to write as much blogs as possible. Let me tell you about my first days in Ghana. (It will be a long story)

On sunday I woke up at 8, we had a family weekend so I had the chance to say goodbye to a lot of people in the morning. My dad, my aunt and I headed to Schiphol at 10 and when we arrived, Sabine was waiting for us. After checking-in we had a quick lunch together and then it was time to say goodbye AGAIN!

I had a seven hour flight from Amsterdam straight to Accra. In the plane I met Mercy, a Ghanian woman who lives in Canada and is doing business in Ghana. She was very friendly and told me a lot about the culture, what to expect and what places to visit. We exchanged phone numbers and I will keep in touch this week. On the other side there was a girl from London named Christina, she is working for the government and had to work on a environmental project in Tamale. After a long conversation we finally arrived in Accra. We had to wait at customs because everyone had to be checked. Luckily there were more people from abroad and we all exchanged numbers and travel plans.

Nyamee from PA( Projects Abroad) picked me up from the airport and we went to a bus with eight other volunteers and from the airport we headed to the Pink Hostel where we had to sleep for the night.

The next day we had breakfast together at 7 and de director of PA welcomed us to Ghana. Six of us had to go north so we took the tro-tro(small taxi bus). One of the girls named Ariyana and I had to go to Koforidua which is 1.5 hours from Accra. We arrived at 10.40 and I went to the house of my host family. I am staying with Mr. and Mrs. Fahene(Peter and Kieft), they have five childres( five boys, one girl). I haven't had time to speak to them all but they seem like nice people.
Peter and Kieft are really friendly and open. The house is pretty nice compared to other houses. There is running water and electricity, a shower with cold water and a toilet.

Okay while writing this.. I think its maybe better to start to be less specific and tell my first experiences of Ghana and the project. I have so much to tell so I will try to tell the most fun and important things..

So after arriving at my host family, Mickey a supervisor from PA showed me the town and market. My first experience in a few words: very friendly people, bad infrastructure, bad smell, low level of education and a lot of poverty and nice food.

After visiting the town and market we went to the PA Office where I met a few more volunteers. Everyone is really friendly and open, we have good conversations and everyone is very interested. There are 14 volunteers in Koforidua from Australia, United States, Italy, France, UK, Canada, Germany, Japan and ofcourse the Netherlands. Everyone is doing different projects and I am doing the microfinance project with Emiel(Dutch) and Camillel(French).

We didn't do much because all the tasks were done. We decided to play soccer with all the volunteers and some childres from the town. A very nice experience, we had a lot of fun and I felt very lucky to experience such a moment.

After soccer everybody went to their host family to have dinner. Kieft made jam with red fish and red sauce. It is a real Ghanian dish and I really liked it. It was a nice first experience. After dinner Vitoro (Italian roommate) and I went to Plus2(bar) with some other volunteers to grab a drink. At 11 we called it a day and went to bed.

Today I am working on the liquid soap project with Emiel and Camille.
at 8.30, we had a meeting and discussed the whole project.
In my next blog I will describe the project, the problems and some more nice things.

Thank you for reading my second blog. I hope you liked it and ask me anything you want.

Me huwu! (May god be with you) - It's what the Ghanian people say as goodbye.






  • 15 Juli 2014 - 18:53

    Hemmala:

    Hi Arjun, it is fantastic to read your blog and to see how enthousiast you are. Allready three days...love to hear and read more. Proud!! Enjoy. Hemmala

  • 16 Juli 2014 - 09:48

    Ricardo:

    Hi Arjun, nice blog! looks like you're enjoying in a internationale environment ( with different cultures) I think its a good experience for you as well. Hope all is well at your side ! Ricardo

  • 16 Juli 2014 - 13:27

    Diepmala:

    Hey Jun, nice to read your second blog. Love the way you ajust abroad. Keep up the good work and also enjoy. I am eager to learn more about your project. Take car. Me huwu!
    Bieta phoei.


  • 17 Juli 2014 - 08:28

    Sabine:

    Hi sweety, proud of you! Counting down the days that you're coming back. But first enjoy the little things and indeed, koop on doing the good work. The most importang thing is that you can make a better world, starting with yourself and that's exactly what you're doing right now. You go love. Kisses & hugs

  • 17 Juli 2014 - 15:37

    Sharmila:

    Hey Arjun, how nice to read your blog, I'm proud of you. Do your best and I very much look forward to your next blog to read. Good luck with your project. Love Sharmila Mausi

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ghana, Koforidua

Volunteering and Discovering in Ghana

Hi all,

The 13th of July will be the start of my first trip on my own. I will visit Ghana to participate in the microfinance project in Koforidua. The project is hosted by Projects Abroad ltd.

The aim of the microfinance project in Ghana is to help local individuals and groups to find a way out of poverty.
The project gives the vulnerable and disadvantaged in society the help they need to strengthen their position in the society.

Candidates will receive a small loan, which they repay within a certain time under guidance.

Projects Abroad provides funding and training to give them the chance to start their own small company. Candidates will receive a small loan, which they repay within a certain time under guidance. We hope that this will enable a sustainable future for themselves and their families.

My daily tasks will consist out of:

* Reading business plans
* Developing marketing strategies
* Managing loans
* The monitoring of the individuals and groups who have received a loan
* Giving weekly workshops
* Providing general business guidance and support

Because of the limited time that I have this summer, I will be volunteering for two weeks and after that I will travel around with my backpack to see what Ghana has more to offer.

I am very excited to start and experience the new culture and a new way of life.

Thank you for reading my first blog. My second blog will follow in July.

Kind regards,

Arjun



Recente Reisverslagen:

29 Juli 2014

The Ghana Life

20 Juli 2014

The project, the outreach, monkeys and more..

15 Juli 2014

Akwaaba(welcome) in Ghana!!!!
Arjun

Actief sinds 30 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 669
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6806

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Juli 2014 - 05 Augustus 2014

Volunteering and Discovering in Ghana

Landen bezocht: